I received a sample of Silk Dairy-Free Yogurt Alternative for free through Crowdtap in return for my honest opinion.

silk1

I do not like Soy whatsoever, except for edamame! However, I was pleasantly surprised to be chosen to try one of these and I have to say, I wasn’t exactly disappointed. I was apprehensive as I absolutely adore regular yogurt, mainly Greek style and whipped, so this was a whole other level. I gave it good shake to feel the consistency and it was very much like regular yogurt.

silk3

I chose Strawberry, but they had citrus flavors, vanilla, and a couple of other berry flavors.  When I first cracked it open, I was surprised to see actual strawberry remnants, like they had used some type of puree while mixing. It was a vibrant pink and had the scent of strawberry. It was a little thinner than I prefer, but I was excited to try. It has 6 grams of protein, which is less than my usual, regular yogurt, so I was somewhat bummed they didn’t incorporate whey in there.

silk

Breakfast Preparation

I mixed mine up with fruit and enjoyed it. The downside was that the soy shines through at the very end of the pleasant bite. It was sweet like milk yogurt and then took a dive for slightly bitter, very soy-flavored aftertaste. I saw many recipes and think it would be an awesome alternative to blend into something like a smoothie, but I don’t think I’ll be eating on its own over regular yogurt any time soon. I love the idea, but hope they modify it a little further.

 

Leave a Reply

