I received a sample of Häagen-Dazs through Crowdtap. This review is 100% honest.

haa This couldn’t have come at a better time! I am majorly needing ice cream and Häagen-Dazs has been my favorite for a long time. I prefer it over Ben & Jerry’s pints any day.

I have needed chocolate and been low on estrogen, if you catch my drift… so I went for the Destination Series “Mayan Chocolate.” I wanted to go out of the box for something spicy and I thought this was perfect. I wanted to see what they could do because I knew they would keep it sweet. Low and behold, I forgot about sweet spice… cinnamon. Ugh. I don’t like cinnamon whatsoever usually. Especially not with chocolate!

How they roped me in:

“the distinctive taste of our mexican-inspired chocolate ice cream is balanced with a warming touch of cinnamon spice, rich fudge, and chocolate truffle chunks. the result is a deliciously complex flavor for the serious chocolate lover.”

I thought “a touch” is not a lot. I guess it’s not, but I am not a fan of cinnamon whatsoever in chocolate I learned. I was supposed to get Brownies A’La Mode. It’s my absolute favorite of the Destination Series I’ve tried. It’s like a better version of milk and brownies. It emulates a good cup of ice cold milk. It’s wonderful on the tongue and the aftertaste. haa4

It seemed to get better in a cake cone, but I love cake cones, so my perception could have been skewed.

I think this would be an awesome truffle base or some type of sweet recipe base to just drown out the cinnamon to a real hint and keep the rich chocolate truffle pieces and fudgy ice cream taste all intact.

I really would have enjoyed this ice cream without the cinnamon in it, with anything else, so Cinnamon lovers rejoice, you got another great addition to your family of sweet spicy goodies.

I’ll stick to trying the Caramel Cone the next time I go… they’re still on sale at Heinen’s, I better stock up 😉

haa2.jpg

Might as well try with this one. 

 

Leave a Reply

