This post was sponsored by Silk® as part of a sampling activation for Crowdtap. I received complimentary Vanilla Silk® Protein & Nutmilk to facilitate my review.

I went for the Vanilla variety as I wasn’t sure I’d like the unsweetened variant. It’s luckily lightly sweetened which goes a long way as the nut flavor isn’t really there for me. I am tasting more of the pea protein than anything in this. It truly tastes like chickpeas and had a thickness that couldn’t be cut by mixing with milk. I was about to cut it with water, but knew that wouldn’t work well either.

silk2

Eventually, I tried it in cold coffee because in warm coffee it cooked the protein to a gelatinous mess. It is amazing in cold coffee and adds value to your daily morning caffeine boosts. I really enjoy mixing this in and knowing how healthily packed with protein it is to make me worry less about the nutrients elsewhere than in something I consume regularly. I also loved to swap this out for ingredients in baked goods (specifically pancakes) which came out spectacularly well and much healthier. It’s a smart option for those looking for a dairy-free, plant-based protein substitute.

Overall, I was also very happy to see that it was soy free as I don’t like soy milk whatsoever and it seems to irritate my throat when I drink it. This is the best option I’ve seen come out of Silk® in a long time that addressed how to replace milk and enjoy the beverage in the same likeness.

silk3

Leave a Reply

