I received free samples of Revlon PhotoReady Primer and Highlight/Blush Duo to facilitate my review. My review is 100% honest.

rev3

I have always loved Revlon PhotoReady Perfecting Primer. It is unmatched to me in terms of discount drug store primers. It has impeccable coverage that allows you to wear this alone and still mask imperfections and large pores handedly. It’s a thick primer that is somewhat tough to apply with just your fingers. The bottle is interesting as it pumps out, but I don’t see a reason for it to pump out, it could have come in a tube. I haven’t diluted it as I really like what the product does in totality after I finally get it blended.

I let it set and then applied my foundation. I use my fingers and found it difficult to apply and blend over this primer. The primer actively collects the foundation to hold it on your face immediately, so you need to work quickly and keep motion on your face until you cover it completely, then do clean up, which is unlike any other primer I have used. However, this primer goes the distance and longer in terms of holding my look together for an an entire night and beyond. Everyone thought I had just applied it for how fresh it stayed throughout my long night. The only pitfall is that it isn’t moisturizing. My foundation is moisturizing and can’t seem to penetrate the primer to help my skin glow as much as it should. I would like to see a version of this that helps to moisturize or works with your foundation a bit more to get the most out of them both. Other than that, it’s truly astounding and powerful as a primer. I may end up diluting myself with an oil free moisturizer to see if I can rig it to be even better.

rev2

Blush?

I was incredibly disappointed by the Insta-Blush stick. I am a heavy blush user, so I am persnickety when it comes to it. This was a rouge highlighter. I received 300 Rose Gold Kiss and it’s exactly as described. Golden highlighting speckles throughout it, so when you apply, it’s a hint of very light pink rose doused in golden specks. It was difficult for me to use with the primer and after my setting powder, which other blushes are not, I am not sure if I want to apply it under my setting powder because it offers minimal rouging as is. Blending it doesn’t work as it just comes off onto your fingers. I found it best to use as a blush primer. I applied lightly in the areas I was going to put my powder blush and it help my blush on so much longer than I’m used to, so it wasn’t completely useless to me. I may always get it to keep as a blush primer and pops of highlight as I’ve been searching for a blush that is light and stays on for a long period of time to no avail. Together, my new blush regimen is a real rouge enhancer that gives me great, natural color for an entire night!

rev5This is probably the second time I’ve used highlighter as I am not that skilled with it and haven’t felt the need for it with my fair tone. However, this is a gem that took my makeup to the next level and I’m incredibly grateful as my facial skin is starting to show signs of aging in my mid-20s! This is like ambrosia for skin, the extra sweetness it craved delivered by gods of makeup. I received 200 Pink Light and it comes out like a cream color and pure highlight. Easily blends which was huge as it’s a strong highlighter. I had given up on highlighters because of the strength, inability to use them properly, blend them, and tone them correctly… this stick did it all in one with a quick swipe and blend with my fingertips. They give incredibly instructions on the Duo pack and you can also quickly Google any other tips as it’s incredibly malleable and easy to work with.rev1 I applied it over my setting powder and blush as instructed and it was still easy to blend and didn’t mess up my look, simply enhanced it! I love it and was showered with compliments after using it. I’m never going back, it makes me more confident and forgives/blurs exhaustion and fine lines. It’s a must in your daily makeup bag and your glam bag.

Leave a Reply

